Simple TX/RX setup with Bluetooth

Hello - I am new to ESP32 world. I am a tinker. I came across the XIAO ESP32S3 without camera and thought it might be what I need. So I ordered a handful of the them allong with the expereimenters board. I build small plastic airplane models and would like to be able to control the speed of a small DC motor and turn on and off a few leds installed in the model. I know I would like it to be bluetooth as I do not want to use wifi for it will be complicated to do for this old man. I am 75. I do not want to use iphone as the controller. Also will it be possible to select different receivers with the same transmitter? Is this possible to do? Are there any sites or info I can go to in order to make something like this? Any help or links would be great! Thank you!

Hi there AlanL, and Welcome

Well you’re only as old as you feel IMO… :smile: :v: Z80, 8086 assembler age :sweat_smile: here

Absolutely within the wheelhouse of the Xiao line of Devices.
BLE support is Very good BTW, the motor easy with a grove module attached. Check out seeed’s web site for those You hook the motor to it then it to the Microcontroller, You can use the Nrf52840 Xiao BLE , for basic Bluetooth along with some digital IO’s (consider some PWM) analog in and out. Super simple , super basic.
UP_a NOTCH…
Use the Nrf52840 Xiao BLE Sense version and add Tap to turn on and off or if you pick it up it turns ON , or orientit a specific way or pattern type of thing (built in Accelerometer)
Controls would be through a BLE app , you build with like MIT app inventor for android (free) or basic send receive like terminal commands with nRF_Connect for android BLE.
All doable easy if you make the choice. same goes for the ESP32S3 pretty much (no IMU)
but has WiFi. Start with what you have its easy to swap if you set it up right.
You use Arduino IDE? or PlatformIO?
hardware is pretty easy too with the dev boards they offer. Check out my Threads on here for the IMU , and displays.