Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Simplify IoT Development.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, seth.welday

amit.mc.19
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by amit.mc.19 » Sat Apr 09, 2016 12:19 am

update on the wiolink connection issue.

I changed from ipad to an android phone for connection. I was able to successfully connect wiolink with the android phone- oneplus x. (not sure what was the problem with ipad)

seeedstudio201410
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:58 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by seeedstudio201410 » Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:53 pm

nevillekong wrote: Hi,I'm Neville Kong,the community operator of Seeed Studio.You should power it on using USB port , click the ''GOT READY'' , then hold down the button for a few seconds.I'm sorry for the confusion,we are improving that little video.
Neville, this doesn't help for me at all. I can connect the app to the AP that the wio sets up, but after telling it about my wlan it doesn't connect and I have to restart. Also see this thread

http://www.seeedstudio.com/forum/viewto ... =17&t=6884

knuvers
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:53 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by knuvers » Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:40 pm

same here: cant connect with iphone 6s :-(

yexiaobo
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:53 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by yexiaobo » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:54 pm

Maybe we need to fix a lot of bug in App :(

Can you guys try the wio-cli tool first? It would be more hard core than App :)

Reference: https://github.com/Seeed-Studio/Wio_Link/issues/8
I finally got some results. Didn't manage to get the app to configure the device and let it connect using the Android App. However, via USB and my MacBook I could get the device to access my WLAN and access the cloud service. How?
0. Install the driver for USB to Serial, download address https://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/Pag ... ivers.aspx
1. Open a terminal
2. Install the cli tool as follows: sudo pip install wio-cli (Windows and Linux have to install python first)
3. Type wio login and follow the instructions.
4. Run wio setup
5. Perform the following conversation:

Code: Select all

> Setup is easy! Let's get started...

! PROTIP: Hold the Configure button ~4s into Configure Mode!
! PROTIP: Please make sure you are connected to the main server

? Would you like continue? [Y/n]: y
> I have detected a Wiolink connected via USB.
> No nearby Wiolink detected.
? Would you like to wait and monitor for Wiolink entering configure mode [Y/n]: n
>
Quit wio setup!
? Would you like to manually enter your Wi-Fi network configuration? [y/N]: y
> Please enter the SSID of your Wi-Fi network: DeBruijnFritzBox
> Please enter your Wi-Fi network password (leave blank for none): bdboksdoorn30
> Please enter the name of a device will be created: WIO_01
> Here's what we're going to send to the Wiolink:

> Wi-Fi network: [ssid here]
> Password: [your pass here]
> Device name: [whatever you like to call it]

? Would you like to continue with the information shown above? [Y/n]: y

> Send Wi-Fi information to device success.
> The Wiolink connect to main server success.
> Set Wiolink name success.

> Configuration complete!

jakobw
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:08 pm

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by jakobw » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:34 pm

I can't connect at all after following the instructions - no device found.

jakwi-macbookair:~ jakwi$ wio setup
> Setup is easy! Let's get started...

! PROTIP: Hold the Configure button ~4s into Configure Mode!
! PROTIP: Please make sure you are connected to the main server

? Would you like continue? [Y/n]: Y
>> No found device! Plese connect your Wiolink with USB.

yexiaobo
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:53 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by yexiaobo » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:23 am

jakobw wrote:I can't connect at all after following the instructions - no device found.

jakwi-macbookair:~ jakwi$ wio setup
> Setup is easy! Let's get started...

! PROTIP: Hold the Configure button ~4s into Configure Mode!
! PROTIP: Please make sure you are connected to the main server

? Would you like continue? [Y/n]: Y
>> No found device! Plese connect your Wiolink with USB.
Er.... It's my wrong. We need to install USB serial driver first in last post.

Here is the driver download address: https://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/Pag ... ivers.aspx

schmidlinp
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:01 pm

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by schmidlinp » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:08 pm

I had same problems with both my WIO Links
I could not set up the WIFI connection with my nexus 6 (android 6.0.1) and not with samsung but it worked with a caterpillar.
Somehow WIO is very picky. Maybe it only works with older android versions (location service was switched on).

I hope this bug get's fixed. Took me quite some time to figure out this work around.
Good luck

seeedstudio201410
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:58 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by seeedstudio201410 » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:46 am

It seems to be an Android 6 issue? If you connect to the network manually you get further.

teng.wang
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:50 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by teng.wang » Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:36 am

Hi friends,

I make a test Wio app. Set timeout to 60s.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/511wep5c2pfdf ... g.apk?dl=0

Please install it and feedback.

Ten

Post Reply