Arduino

Hi! I am a newbie on this programming device and need some help from you guys… Sincerely thanks in advance.
Right now, I intend to use the Arduino to do a auto gate system. Therefore, can someone give me some input on what gauge that i should need? which mean which type of Arduino main board and which type of Arduino shield and any other part that i should have to make my project work. Also with minimum cost as possible. :slight_smile:
some requirement below but not necessary to follow:

1. 12V system
  2. remote control unit
  3. with safety protection
    I am appreciate for your comment and input. Thank you very much.
    :slight_smile:

What is an “auto gate system”?

well!.. it is an automatic swing door system. The operation is something as below.

• When i press “A” button of the key chain signal transmitter, the receiver unit will detect the signal and open one door (right side only).
  • When i press “B” button of the key chain signal transmitter, the receiver unit will detect the signal and open both door (left side and right side).
  • When i press “A” button of the key chain signal transmitter, the receiver unit will detect the signal and open one door (right side only). During the half way through, when “A” button of the key chain signal transmitter press again, it will stop the door which is opening. or when the opening door that hit on some object, it will stop half way through (safety protection).
    It is mainly use for controlling the outdoor gate system. Hope this is clear enough to you… :slight_smile:

How much of the system exists currently? Is the gate already motorized? Is it already activated by a keychain transmitter?

The good news is, what you are asking to do is fairly simple.
The bad news is, making it robust enough to work as a real-world system could get a little more complicated.

Initially, the hard part will be interfacing with the existing components, so we need as much detail about that as possible.