Xiao ESP32-C3 deep sleep in micropython

Hi, I am new to the XIAO ESP32-C3 board. I’ve managed to code everything I needed so far except for setting up deep sleep with wake up from two digital input pins. Could anyone PLEASE share a micropython working code snippet doing that?

I’ve tried
w1 = Pin(3, Pin.IN)
w2 = Pin(4, Pin.IN)
esp32.wake_on_ext1(pins = (w1, w2), level = esp32.WAKEUP_ANY_HIGH)
machine.deepsleep()
but I get an *ValueError: invalid pin" error.

Many thanks in advance

Hi there,
Try This…The ESP32 should blink the on-board LED and print a message. Then, it goes to sleep.
This is repeated over and over again.

from machine import deepsleep
from machine import Pin
from time import sleep

led = Pin (2, Pin.OUT)

#blink LED
led.value(1)
sleep(1)
led.value(0)
sleep(1)

# wait 5 seconds so that you can catch the ESP awake to establish a serial communication later
# you should remove this sleep line in your final script
sleep(5)

print('Im awake, but Im going to sleep')

#sleep for 10 seconds (10000 milliseconds)
deepsleep(10000)

HTH
GL :slight_smile: PJ :v:

p.s.
It’s important to add a 5 seconds delay before going to sleep when we are developing the scripts. When you want to upload a new code to the board, it needs to be awake. So, if you don’t have the delay, it will be difficult to catch it awake to upload new code later on. After having the final code, you can delete that delay.
here is a good video increasing battery life for many day’s https://youtu.be/ndmJR6Z_u5w?si=n37uHIAZWqvdPu_v

Thanks a lot PJ!
Do you have a similar example that wakes up upon setting one of two pins?
I know I could go c/c++ but the application I wrote is in micropython and to translate it back to C would take a significant effort and I bought the xiao board due to the very low deepsleep current (it is an iot app that gets to run once or twice a day one one of two reed switches open up)…
Kind regards
Massimo

Hi there,