Understanding Grove PIR Motion Sensor Detection to Use in Other Code

Hi, I’m trying to understand how to use the Grove PIR Motion Sensor. I’m fairly new to hardware & sensor programming, so apologies if some of these questions are pretty basic.

I was able to set up my Raspberry Pi to use the Grove PIR Motion sensor using the Grove Base HAT for RasPi and following this guide:
https://wiki.seeedstudio.com/Grove-PIR_Motion_Sensor/

It’s able to detect motion fairly well, but I’m unable to understand the following script to see where the code is actually getting the input from the GPIO port/sensor, and determining whether that input represents motion being detected or not:

import time
from grove.gpio import GPIO

class GroveMiniPIRMotionSensor(GPIO):
def init(self, pin):
super(GroveMiniPIRMotionSensor, self).init(pin, GPIO.IN)
self._on_detect = None

@property
def on_detect(self):
    return self._on_detect

@on_detect.setter
def on_detect(self, callback):
    if not callable(callback):
        return

if self.on_event is None:
        self.on_event = self._handle_event

self._on_detect = callback

def _handle_event(self, pin, value):
    if value:
        if callable(self._on_detect):
            self._on_detect()

Grove = GroveMiniPIRMotionSensor

def main():
import sys

if len(sys.argv) < 2:
    print('Usage: {} pin'.format(sys.argv[0]))
    sys.exit(1)

pir = GroveMiniPIRMotionSensor(int(sys.argv[1]))

def callback():
    print('Motion detected.')

pir.on_detect = callback

while True:
    time.sleep(1)

if name == ‘main’:
main()

So, I was wondering if one of you smart people could help understand exactly what’s going on in this script, and where the sensor is actually detecting motion or not.