The best firmware to use and very slow response for low freq

Hi all

Just used my new DSO Quad today for the first time and I wonder if anyone can help.

I see notes about alternative firmware (Benf, Community edition etc.). Does anyone consider one of these to be significantly better than the default firmware. I have HW 2.70, Sys 1.52 and App (Plus A1) V1.06).

Secondly I am having a bit of a weird problem. I am no expert with scopes although I have owned a couple many years ago however I am testing a 555 based timer circuit running at fairly low frequencies (say 50 to 3000 Hz). With a low speed timebase the DSO takes ages (maybe 10 seconds) to respond to changes in frequency etc.

I can replicate this with the inbuilt signal generator conncted using the probes to ChA. Set Signal Generator to Square wave, 50Hz and then change the timebase on ChA to 10mS, Change to 20mS and the display takes about 7 or 8 seconds to respond, change to 100mS and it takes almost 20 seconds to update and so on.

Is this normal or am I just being dumb?

Lastly, if I try to put the DSO into upgrade mode by switching on with the Run/Hold button pressed, the device does not appear in my list of drives in Windows 8 64 bit. It appears fine when running normally just not when it is in upgrade mode. Also, when in upgrade mode the screen dims when I connect the USB cable …

Thanks anyone for any input.

John

Oops, sorted the USB issue, the cable supplied was the cause of the problem.

Does anyone have any ideas on this one?

Many thanks

John

The slow response is caused because by default it is using a 4096 sample buffer and the screen is refreshed only when that fills. So at slow time bases it can take a while to fill the buffer.