Seeduino Starker 2.3 Startup Newbie

I have not done any project like this, I am a embedded software engineer and am around electrical engineers and was an electrical repair tech on Air Force Avionics equipment 40 years ago so rusty but have the tools to understand and learn.

I just received my Seeeduino Starker 2.3 and based upon the Wiki I installed the following drivers: FTDI 2.8.30.0 on Windows 7
The driver appeared to install correctly setting up my usb port as:
COM 3, 9600 baud, 8 data, Parity none, stop bits 1, Row Control none.
I tried to use Putty serial interface setting the parameters as above but it is not connecting.

Lights on the board:
ok green
ch flashing red
pb0 flashing green

UartsBee V4.0

pwr green
txd no light
rxd no light

Pin Connections
Seeeduino - UartsBee
dtr - dtr
txd - rxd
rxd - txd
usb5v - vcc
gnd - cts
gnd - gnd

I am missing something, need help getting up and going. Other software?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Hi

I have exactly the same problem. If you find a solution, please write it to the forum.

Cheers

I solved the serial port issue.

I am using something called Free Serial Port Terminal, which I got off the web and has a better serial application than Putty.

I also realized that I have not loaded a program to operate the device so all I can get is an echo of what I type. But that is ok because that is what I am getting now.

The next step I assume is to install a SD memory card to hold the program. I need to figure how to load the program. I’m hoping I can use a SD Card reader to do that then use the serial interface to talk to the device.

I’m pretty green on this but there is no out the box step by step process to follow so I’m talking it step by step.

Well, I haven’t gotten much farther, could use a post from some one who knows something.

After doing a lot of research, the SD card is for storing files not program code. What was I thinking, the equipment I load code on works very differently.