SD card and fat16

Hi to everybody. I’m new in this “world” and I hope somebody can help me. I’ve bought a Seeeduino mega11 and a Sd card reader, I downloaded the code for writing and reading in fat16, but I haven’t had any success: I get always the same error:
error: card.init
SD error: 1

I get this error with the sd reader connected or disconnected and with the sd card inserted or not inserted. I’m using a 1Gb Sd card, formatted as fat16…
If it can be helpful, here you can see a photo of the hardware I have: futurashop.it/allegato/7300- … t=&d=13,50

Does anybody have an idea? Thanks!

Hi, the SD card shield is not compatible with seeeduino/arduino mega. So try the arduino or seeeduino 328.

Hello. Thanks a lot for your answer.
Are you sure? At the link I posted in my first message, there’s a picture of a Seeeduino mega11 with the Sd card reader.
And I checked the pin labels on the Seeeduindo Mega11 and on the Sd card reader and they correspond: +3,3V is in the same position, the same for +5V, Gnd and D9.

The SPI port on mega is not the pin 10,11,12,13, so it can not control the sd card through these pins.

The SPI pin on mega is as follows:
CS->PB0
MISO->PB3
MOSI->PB2
CLK->PB1

You are an expert and I’m so ignorant that I can’t understand you…
Can you please tell me what’s PB1, PB2, PB4?

If I understood correctly, I have to drive 4 wires from the pins on the SD reader to the Seeeduino board.
So, the corrispondence could be:
10 -> PB4
11 -> PB2
12 -> PB2
13 -> PB1
Is that right or is it in another order? If it’s correct, I just have to understand what PB1, PB2, PB4 are…

There’s a mistake in my previous reply, and I had edited it.

These pins on seeeduino mega are as follows:
CS->53
MISO->50
MOSI->51
SCK->52

BTW, what library are you using to control the SD card?

please take a look at the figure below.
PB0,PB2 are the pin names of atemga 1280 microcontroller which mega board uses.
PIN MAPPING ARDUINO MEGA.jpg

use pin50,51,52,53,should be ok.
t1.jpg