RAINBOWDUINO - POSSIBLE TO PROGRAM CHAINED BOARDS VIA I2C?

Hi,
from the heightness of my ignorance I would like to ask to more expert users
if it’s possible to program multiple rainbowduino boards once they’re, for example, configured as a 4-unit chain.
Let’s say I wish to keep em plugged like in the video example and reprogram their slave code via I2C;
and if it’s possible, I would like to program different code into different boards with unique I2C addresses.
Is there a way to use addresses to route the code to different boards?
It would save much time in the prototyping and test of code.
But I’m no expert in I2C so maybe it’s an impossible thing to do, sorry if I’m asking stupid things!
Thanks for your help,
kk

if i understand you correctly, that functionality is already there. To address the different rainbowduinos, you need to send a different address in your i2c commands.

like in

ShowChar(4,words[i],r[i],g[i],b[i],j);

the 4 is the address of the rainbowduino.

in the manual you will see that most commands have the address as the first thing to send.

hope that helps.
if not, then i dont think i clearly understand what it is you are looking for.

Hi,
thanks for the answer, and sorry if I didn’t explain clearly,
I re-edited my post and hope now it’s clearer.

THE SITUATION:
I have 4 rainbowduino boards chained together, and 1 Arduino connected via I2C as master controller,
it’s working and I can send commands to different addresses using the “ADD” parameter
for functions like ShowChar, ShowCol, etc…
I also have a USBUart that I normally use to program the boards, I know that’s the way to do it.

THE QUESTION:
I would like to know if it’s possible to
reprogram the code that’s inside the ATMEGA on the rainbowduino via I2C bus or the USBUart,
addressing each sketch to its target board.

I want to upload the code from the Arduino IDE to each of the boards,
without un-chaining them everytime,
using the I2C bus or the USBUart to program the boards via Arduino.