I would like information about DEBUG with XIAO ESP32C3

I am new to development with XIAO ESP32C3 board. I would like information about DEBUG. I didn’t understand why I need another hardware even though I have USB/JTAG. Could you inform me about this? I am very grateful!

Hi, OsvaldoTCF:
In principle, there should be no need for another hardware, and under the premise of ensuring the normal operation of the power supply circuit, crystal oscillator circuit and reset circuit, debugging can be carried out through the JTAG interface
After the system is powered on, the output waveform of the corresponding pin of xiao can be checked through the oscilloscope to determine whether it is working normally. Under the condition that xiao is working normally, ADS or SDT can be used to access and control the components in the chip through the JTAG interface.
Here, you can first try to drive the IO port to verify that the ADS debug environment is set up correctly and that the connection to the JTAG interface is normal by manipulating the special function register that controls the universal I/O port on the chip.

Hello. Many thanks for the feedback!

I would like information on why I have the same indicators as other cards regarding USB and JTAG but I cannot use DEBUG just using the USB CABLE.

Another point, could you give me a link with information on how to make links with other boards for DEBUG?

I’m a newbie!

Thank you very much.

Hi,OsvaldoTCF:

Debugging methods besides JTAG and USB, Port, etc. But I am good at JTAG, ha ha ha.
I can provide some of my personal steps on connecting to the debug board:
1. Power on the development board and connect the development board to the computer with a serial cable or USB-to-serial cable
2. Install the usb serial port to drive
3. Open the device manager to check the serial port status