Bluetooth connection with arduino

Hey everyone,
I am trying to set up a connection between my arduino nano (3.1) and my mobile phone. I am not sure if I want to be able to program the board wireless yet as much as just being able to command it to control some basic functions to start. I am using the bluetoothbee as my module for my nano and excuse me if this is a dumb question, but will I need the shield as an intermediate between the two? And if so, what module or method could I use to bypass this? (I’m trying to put the module + board into something small so every cc counts) I found some wonderful tutorials here:

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1283&p=4077&hilit=mobile+phone+bluetooth+arduino#p4077

and also the master slave tutorial which I have already read and am planning to use here:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=687&hilit=bluetoothBee

I have yet to receive the bee yet but I am I good to go? or will I need to write code for any drivers? I am kind of new at this but I have a decent programming background as well as a above average knowledge of electronics. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you guys

Jesse

So i ended up just getting the shield and connected them all together, however I ran into a pretty big road block that I would like some help on. Whenever I try to program the board and the bee together I get a protocol error saying that the programmer is out of sync. I read forums up and down and found out I needed to upload the code to the board without it attached, then hit reset on the board. This dodged the programming problem but when I hit the reset button on the board it doesn’t do anything. All I get is a flashing green light. What do I do to get this running? Btw the code im using to run a preliminary trial is the one found on the bluetooth bee wiki

#include <NewSoftSerial.h> //Software Serial Port
#define RxD 11
#define TxD 12

#define DEBUG_ENABLED 1

NewSoftSerial blueToothSerial(RxD,TxD);

void setup()
{
pinMode(RxD, INPUT);
pinMode(TxD, OUTPUT);