DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes)

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jeremy882, crail.lyu969

DK8HI
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:07 am

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by DK8HI » Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:19 am

Hello Wildcat,
it seems there is an error in setting the trigger level.
If I select the trigger level for chan A and select level with button 4 I can lower the level with the left toggle,
but if I want to increase the level with the left toggle it just cycles through the sub-options as if pressing
button 4!
I am using your version 5.1 wit hardware 2.81 and the FPGA W1.1 file recommended for that version.
Then, after selecting something else the setting even refuses to go to the LEV section while pressing
button 4.
Any idea?
Best regards DK8HI

borland
Kindergarten
Kindergarten
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:47 am

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by borland » Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:56 am

DK8HI,

The trigger LEV function is so commonly used, others with your hardware version and WC5.1 would have reported that weeks ago. Also doesn't sound like a mechanical switch problem.

Try reloading your SYS & WC5.1, one at a time, to see if that issue is resolved by a reload.

Wildcat
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:29 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Quad

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by Wildcat » Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:55 am

indman wrote:Prompt how you have solved a problem with grounding of LCD?
You have to take the unit apart, of course. On the front side of the board, the frame of the LCD presses against a small wire mesh covered square that is glued to the Gen Out jack body. I first tried to solder a wire directly from ground to the LCD frame but the metal it was made out of didn't seem solderable. I was reluctant to apply too much heat for fear of cracking or otherwise damaging the display, so I just soldered a piece of thin copper over the wire mesh and onto the jack which built up the thickness and allowed for a better contact with the LCD frame.

I just looked at pictures of some earlier hardware versions, and these seem to ground the LCD frame in a different location. There appears to be more than one display version being used, so not all units may be the same.

Wildcat
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:29 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Quad

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by Wildcat » Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:13 pm

DK8HI wrote:Hello Wildcat,
it seems there is an error in setting the trigger level.
If I select the trigger level for chan A and select level with button 4 I can lower the level with the left toggle,
but if I want to increase the level with the left toggle it just cycles through the sub-options as if pressing
button 4!
I am using your version 5.1 wit hardware 2.81 and the FPGA W1.1 file recommended for that version.
Then, after selecting something else the setting even refuses to go to the LEV section while pressing
button 4.
Any idea?
Best regards DK8HI
The only thing I can think of is maybe you have inadvertently pressed button 2, which sets the trigger level to AUTO. In this mode, cycling though the trigger menu with button 4, the "LEV" sub menu will be skipped. Press and HOLD button 2 until it beeps, this sets the trigger level to manual and moves the focus to the LEV sub menu. To the right of "LEV" will show "MAN". In manual mode, button 4 can also be used to select LEV. When in auto level mode, MAN changes and cycles through 1/2, 3/4, then 1/4 with each SHORT press of button 2.

aleksandr-komi
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:43 pm

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by aleksandr-komi » Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:09 pm

Good health to you, Wildcat! Recently bought a DSO DSO Quad. He wanted to update the firmware and searched the Internet, found. Before I HARDWARE was 2.81 and was 2.6. I do not understand what happened. Then set your firmware, it became much better. Can I create one that is not so. How to change the firmware properly? How to make CH(A) in the middle? When connected to a computer, he does not see it as a drive, format offers, but ends up formatting error. I am just learning. Help me please.
Photos from my mistakes DSO Quad could not upload here, but I can send them to you by mail.

DK8HI
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:07 am

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by DK8HI » Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:51 pm

The only thing I can think of is maybe you have inadvertently pressed button 2, which sets the trigger level to AUTO. In this mode, cycling though the trigger menu with button 4, the "LEV" sub menu will be skipped. Press and HOLD button 2 until it beeps, this sets the trigger level to manual and moves the focus to the LEV sub menu. To the right of "LEV" will show "MAN". In manual mode, button 4 can also be used to select LEV. When in auto level mode, MAN changes and cycles through 1/2, 3/4, then 1/4 with each SHORT press of button 2.
Thanks!
Was not aware that button 2 would set auto trigger permanently.
DK8HI

Wildcat
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:29 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Quad

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by Wildcat » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:10 am

aleksandr-komi wrote:Photos from my mistakes DSO Quad could not upload here, but I can send them to you by mail.
You can send me a message. Explain what hardware version your DSO Quad is and what updates you have done.

Wildcat
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:29 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Quad

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by Wildcat » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:31 pm

Just now noticed some issues with my latest updates loaded on hardware 2.81 devices: These involve problems like loss of some meter functions or meter display after saving config files, possible temporary loss of triggering or other random problems.

The fix involves increasing RAM allocation from 48K to 64K and increasing the call stack from 8K to 16K. Since HW version 2.81 is the only version with 64K of RAM available, this would NOT be compatible with any other previous hardware version, nor would it be necessary since these problems do not appear to exist with earlier HW 2.60 and 2.70 devices.

Possibly, the larger buffer size needed for the 8MB drives is causing the stack corruption; unknown at this point if HW V2.72 is affected, these were the first to have 8MB drives. All my previous devices are of V2.70 or earlier so I can't check those out.

I have always taken the older version devices out for field use, so this went on unnoticed until now. Will be taking the 2.81 unit for use from now on.

Will be posting an update to fix this shortly, need to check things out more thoroughly. However this will now necessitate different versions for new and older devices. Again, older HW 2.70 and earlier units should work properly with all posted versions.

fkossy
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:37 am

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by fkossy » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:39 am

Hello,
It's possible to install your software for version HW2.82?

Wildcat
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:29 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Quad

Re: DSO203 GCC APP - Community Edition (2.51+SmTech1.8+Fixes

Post by Wildcat » Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:54 am

fkossy wrote:Hello,
It's possible to install your software for version HW2.82?
I'm not aware of any hardware version 2.82. As far as I know, the latest hardware version produced is V2.81. If that is what you mean, yes, you can instal the latest 5.1 post which is on page 57. In fact, you can instal that version on any hardware version.

However, as I posted above, when using 5.1 with the latest hardware version 2.81, there is not enough memory allocated and when saving files, some functions will not work right afterwards. Nothing really bad will happen, but some things (eg: meters) will malfunction. I'm surprised nobody else picked and reported on this.

You can either update it with the fixed version after I post it, or just wait and use the fixed version.

Just found out about this late last night. I had originally allocated all the memory available while developing the 2.81 compatible version, so I didn't notice the issue at the time. But at the end had to reduce it ensure compatibility with the older hardware versions, which have less memory. I figured this should work OK with the latest version as well but didn't think about the much larger file buffer used with the latest devices with 8MB drives.

This will now necessitate 2 different versions, 5.X which will work on older devices, and will be posting a fix the above issue with HW 2.81 devices as version 6.0 shortly, possibly later tonight if everything works well, just looking to fix any other minor issues as well before posting.

From now on, versions 5.X will be used for any future updates for the earlier hardware versions only, while 6.0 and above will be for HW version 2.81 only.

Post Reply