Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Simplify IoT Development.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, seth.welday

bing.li
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:52 pm

Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by bing.li » Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:08 pm

I am not able to connect to my WIO. After sending the wifi password to the wio link, an error message appears telling me that Wio Link can not connect to the router.
The password is correct, though. Tried it a couple of times. Any ideas?Thx

jasonphillips37
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:36 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by jasonphillips37 » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:21 pm

Hi

I am having the same problem, I have tried 2 routers and 3 mobiles and still have not got the thing to connect.

There must of several people with the same problem.

Also I can not see anywhere I can post a support question :(

mloebl
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by mloebl » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:25 pm

Does your access point have WPA2 enabled? I had to first connect to one that was unsecured but had Internet connectivity, let it connect with the app and run for a couple mins. I was then able to reconfigure it to point to me normal secured network.

seeedstudio201410
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:58 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by seeedstudio201410 » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:28 pm

All my routers have WPA2 enabled. I might try to set up a dummy network without one if you say it helps.
This should probably be in the FAQ...

mloebl
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by mloebl » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:37 pm

@seeedstudio201410 Mine all do as well. I ended up using a 2nd phone set up as a hotspot, and configured the Wio Link from a 2nd phone.

sito.org
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:08 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by sito.org » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:10 am

same for me. send the password and it waits then comes back with no connection. wifi router uses "wpa personal" security/password.

chuck.untulis
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:21 am

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by chuck.untulis » Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:43 am

I am having the same problems and the getting started instructions are great if you have been working with the device for months or more, but just getting started the cute little video is no help and is confusing. What is "-4s" supposed to represent - a delay of 4 seconds or holding down the button for 4 seconds or is it just a typo???

What is the theory of operation of the device.?

What should the USB cable connect to - any USB port for power or is there some hidden stuff?

I can see the device on my Samsung phone, but it says that it is not in range when it is sitting right next to the phone.

I can not see the device from my WiFi router?

nevillekong
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by nevillekong » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:09 am

jasonphillips37 wrote:Hi

I am having the same problem, I have tried 2 routers and 3 mobiles and still have not got the thing to connect.

There must of several people with the same problem.

Also I can not see anywhere I can post a support question :(
Hi, I had same problem,but I settled it.Please make sure that you choose correct server ,China mainland select China server,others select International server. :)

nevillekong
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by nevillekong » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:05 pm

chuck.untulis wrote:I am having the same problems and the getting started instructions are great if you have been working with the device for months or more, but just getting started the cute little video is no help and is confusing. What is "-4s" supposed to represent - a delay of 4 seconds or holding down the button for 4 seconds or is it just a typo???

What is the theory of operation of the device.?

What should the USB cable connect to - any USB port for power or is there some hidden stuff?

I can see the device on my Samsung phone, but it says that it is not in range when it is sitting right next to the phone.

I can not see the device from my WiFi router?
Hi,I'm Neville Kong,the community operator of Seeed Studio.You should power it on using USB port , click the ''GOT READY'' , then hold down the button for a few seconds.I'm sorry for the confusion,we are improving that little video.

amit.mc.19
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: Why my wiolink can't connect to the router?

Post by amit.mc.19 » Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:36 pm

Same issues here.

I connect my ipad to my wioLink. After this, I tried to connect the wiolink to the WiFi router using the wiolink ipad app but I only ended up getting a time out error.

After reading an earlier post, I tried to use internet sharing on my phone(instead of using the router) and connect the wioLink to internet but I still end up getting time out errors.

Any pointers to get around this problem is appreciated?

Post Reply