(TECH) RePhone with LED Matrix

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie, chao.zhang

catalinanesia
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten

(TECH) RePhone with LED Matrix

Post by catalinanesia » Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:13 pm

Hi everyone,
Will RePhone GSM+BLE be able to drive this LED Matrix https://www.adafruit.com/products/870 with backpack from Adafruit? if yes do I need to do something special under Arduino IDE other than including the Adafruit library for that Matrix? if not what options I have to drive a LED Matrix with it?
Thank you for guidance!

Regards,
Catalin

dbelam
Elementary-1
Elementary-1

Re: (TECH) RePhone with LED Matrix

Post by dbelam » Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:46 am

Give it power, connect and it should work - I don't see why not. Just go through the code for config (I2C address) and other stuff.

catalinanesia
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten

Post by catalinanesia » Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:54 am

Thanks! dbelam
I am a newbie in all the aspects (electronics, Arduino and programming) but what do you mean by this:
"go through the code for config (I2C address)"

Regards,
Cat

dbelam
Elementary-1
Elementary-1

Post by dbelam » Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:39 am

Oh, thank you for telling me your knowledge.
I2C devices have a somewhat unique address, and your module's address can be changed with jumpers - so check the arduino code and the module's documentation, and make the 2 address match. Oh, and the "write" and "read" address is different by 1 bit!

catalinanesia
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten

Post by catalinanesia » Sun Mar 13, 2016 8:10 pm

Thanks! dbelam for the advice,
Therefore this wiring will work: ImageCan I add 2 pushbuttons on Int1 (pin 4) and Int2 (pin 5)? INT stands for what?

dbelam
Elementary-1
Elementary-1

Post by dbelam » Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:38 pm

Add the 2 power pins too (the bare minimum is to connect the 2 GND pins, but you probably want to give power from rephone, so connect the vcc-s too)