GPSv2 inaccuracy

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie, chao.zhang

rhbroberg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by rhbroberg » Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:35 pm

Is there documentation somewhere which shows how to take compiled code from KDS and upload it? Or is this something we need to the rephone development group involved in? Do they monitor these forums?

dbelam
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:59 am

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by dbelam » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:21 am

You just flash the new firmware via KDS. The user manual of the Kinetis SDK is really clear acout flashing and debugging. You can use Segger and OpenOCD too.

rhbroberg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by rhbroberg » Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:36 am

I see the new object and hex file posted to the github (where I found the source code). I have a bus pirate and OpenOCD, but I will need a little more direction in terms of how to do so. Additionally, everybody who has received one of these parts so far has the GPS library code in it which is inaccurate and will need to follow some directions for how to update this, so it seems like creating a step-by-step guide is in order.

dbelam
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:59 am

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by dbelam » Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:46 am

My gps module is on its way, so I can't make a tutorial this weekend. After that I can make something, but with segger (I got one with an infineon devboard)

getmemot
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by getmemot » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:16 pm

I have ordered the GPS V2 about a week ago im not happy hearing this news, so ill take it that the one that i will receive will be inaccuracy aswell?

Has any contacted SeeedStudio about this issue?

rhbroberg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by rhbroberg » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:27 am

Unfortunately all devices will have the faulty gps parsing code until they are reflashed. Presumably upgraded firmware will be made available at some point. I would like to see the interface changed to provide read/write access to the underlying GPS chipset (the NMEA strings directly) to allow more control. That seems to be a more common method of providing access.

seeed86
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by seeed86 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:26 pm

@rhbroberg, and also it'd be nice if it will be some firmware-upgrade interface there, which would not require windows :'(

getmemot
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by getmemot » Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:39 pm

Is there a work around and till the firmware upgrade?

getmemot
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by getmemot » Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:05 am

Anyone? This is delaying my project :(

seeed86
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: GPSv2 inaccuracy

Post by seeed86 » Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:18 am


Post Reply