RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie, chao.zhang

m.duerr
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:48 am

RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by m.duerr » Sun Jan 24, 2016 6:31 am

I assembled my RePhone. Everything (touch screen and so on) is working fine.

Then, like described here
http://www.seeedstudio.com/wiki/Arduino ... ePhone_Kit
i installed the drivers. Both com ports are listed in the device manager.

Next i tried to update the firmware but failed:
- My RePhone was off (LED off)
- Updater strated and download button clicked.
- USB connected to PC
- LED becomes green. RePhone starts in mass storage mode (drive shown in the windows explorer).
- Firmware updater time out message.

What's wrong? Do i have to erase the files in the mass storage before?
Last edited by m.duerr on Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:26 am, edited 4 times in total.

tomfanning
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:56 am

Re: RePhone: Update/Flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE

Post by tomfanning » Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:00 am

Same problem here. Any solution?

tried to post a screenshot but got a message: "Your post looks too spamy for a new user", so reassemble this:

imgur / 5jqid38.png

jinyuan.weng
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:17 pm

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by jinyuan.weng » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:42 pm

Hi m.duerr:
Maybe the the battery is not well connected, or the battery is without enough power.
Ths!

carl19
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:53 am

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by carl19 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:06 am

I had very similar issues flashing my board. I have now managed to do it.

To get it to work I ended up pulling an old Windows XP SP2 machine out of the cupboard. Wonce I was using that it worked without issue. I have now reflashed my board and have been playing around with some of the example code.

Carl

catalinanesia
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:24 am

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by catalinanesia » Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:23 am

Hi everyone,
I have the same issue on Win7 64bit, and I've done the following:
- installed the drivers
- COM ports are listed in the device manager.
- attach the battery to RePhone
- press the power button to switch off (led not blinking)
- start the updater
- attach to PC via USB
- LED becomes green. RePhone starts in mass storage mode (drive shown in the windows explorer).
- Firmware updater time out message.

Any solution to make it work with Win7 ?

Thanks!

mueller_bruno
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:34 am

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by mueller_bruno » Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:36 am

Is there any solution? It also not works with win10 -> my Rephone is now "empty"...

frank_motta
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:30 am

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by frank_motta » Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:46 am

I doubt we will get support in a timely manner...

From my experience:
Seeed seldom responds even with faulty hardware/RMA requests
Most of China is out on holiday making the idea of doing direct business with Any company in China a problem to most of us in the rest of the world.

My opinion:
Seeed needs to hire and train people for support (not just development)
ANY company that wants to sell retail directly to the rest of the world needs to have someone available for support and fulfillment purposes. It is a fools quest not to do business like this. A few countries/companies tried not to do this and most have hired/subcontracted people to fill in this shortcoming.

dbelam
Elementary-1
Elementary-1
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:59 am

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by dbelam » Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:39 pm

mueller_bruno wrote:Is there any solution? It also not works with win10 -> my Rephone is now "empty"...
After flashing, you should copy an initial folder structure with some files to run. (also running W10) It can be found on the wiki, copy the content of this folder. https://github.com/WayenWeng/RePhone_Cr ... 0Kit%20VXP

Also, general answer: my rephone stopped responding several times. Flashing should be done like
- start the flasher and set up the image
- pull out battery from rephone and reinsert; plug USB cable in rephone
- click start flashing in app
- plug rephone to USB
- now rephone is flashing, and don't forget to copy the stuff needed on the disk!
Worked like a charm for me.

geschmierer
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:30 pm

Re: RePhone: how to flash the Firmware for Arduino IDE ?

Post by geschmierer » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:26 am

Trouble updating the Firmware. I did not want to hassle with the Signature Driver issue with WIndows 10. Used a Windows 7 disk and was successful with the drivers. However, the firmware never displayed a progress bar. It was stuck. Made sure the battery was charged. Tried multiple changes and attempts, with the same stuck position when it should have displaying the progress. All grey/gray. Hopefully, this will be a quick fix after CNY so we can use a Windows 10 system as is. Or possibly a Linux OS (Raspberry Pi or Ubuntu would be OK as well - providing the instructions are easy to follow for Noobies.

cotting.alexandre
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:59 am

RePhone: how to flash the Firmware on Windows 10 ?

Post by cotting.alexandre » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:07 am

Hello,

Could we get a full support for Windows 10? I parsed the different posts and saw no solution for the moment.

When I connect my RePhone to my Windows 10 PC it even doesn't show the two com ports as described here: http://www.seeedstudio.com/wiki/Arduino ... the_Driver

When I connect, disconnect and reconnect the RePhone nothing changes on the device list.

Thanks for any help.

Post Reply