Rephone doesn't see sim card

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie, chao.zhang

kaktus.martin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:33 pm

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by kaktus.martin » Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:10 am

I figured it out... I always called the api from a sub thread, but some api's can only be called from the main thread, my sim card is now detected correctly.

92421
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:32 pm

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by 92421 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:43 am

for me resolved
disable pin code in a smartphone
i have a german o2 prepaid

Christina
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by Christina » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:42 pm

chao.zhang wrote:
marten.hazelaar wrote:Last week a friend gave me a rephone kit. A wonderful present! I assembled it and all things look if they're working. I inserted a new sim card, but it doesn't recognize it. It keeps saying sim missing. I tried a sim card of an other cell phone and it worked neither. The new sim card worked properly in the other cell phone. May be it has something to do with the network, however the provider is still keeping up the 2G network.
Please, can someone help me with this problem?

Hi Marten,

Thanks for the feedback.

I am thinking about:

CASE A - it could be a bad connection between the SIM card and the card slot here in your case.
CASE B - Every time you re-insert the SIM card, you need to reboot the RePhone

Could you please try the following:
Case A:
1. Please check the direction of your SIM card, see if you have inserted it other way around
2. Try to gently push in the card a little bit
3. If your RePhone still shows "NO SIM" on the screen, use a tweezer to SLIGHTLY lever up the metal connector on the SIM card slot , DO NOT BE TO HARD OR YOU MAY BREAK IT.

Case B:
Turn off the rephone, re-insert the SIM card, then turn it on again to see if it works.


Please let us know if the problem is solved.
Thank you!
I had this same problem: The Xadow GSM+BLE module on my RePhone was not recognizing my Ting (USA) 2G Nano SIM. In the end, it was a seating problem with the FPC Cable. For anyone else struggling with this issue, you might try to re-seat your FPC Cable.

Also, this may just be coincidence, but:
- I noticed that if the FPC Cable was not seated well on the Xadow Touchscreen module connector end, there was a problem with the Display.
- I noticed that if the FPC Cable was not seated well on the Xadow GSM+BLE module connector end, there was a problem with the SIM card being recognized.

jianzhang.su
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:34 pm

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by jianzhang.su » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:23 pm

Hi, Christina
Thanks for your feeedback. About the second situation you describe "I noticed that if the FPC Cable was not seated well on the Xadow GSM+BLE module connector end, there was a problem with the SIM card being recognized"
Could you please post a picture when you meet this situation to us for figure out this problem?
Thx!

r.doornhein
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 12:56 am

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by r.doornhein » Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:04 am

I had the same problem. But I activated my sim on a phone and disabled the pin-code.
I had to wait until I got an text from the provider, that the sim was activated and after that everything worked on the rephone. I also have a HEMA sim-card. Hope this helps.
Because i'm also from the Netherlands now in Dutch:
Op een ouwe android de pincode beveiliging uitgezet en eerst iets doen zoals een sms-je sturen of zo en wachten tot je een sms-je ontvangt van de Hema dat je sim geactiveerd is. Daarna deed hij het.

Good Luck,

Rick

Spetznatz1
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:16 am

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by Spetznatz1 » Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:07 am

In regards to the SIM issue, can anyone tell me what carriers in the US has SIM cards that work in the RePhone?? I'm primarily looking for a SIM card from a prepaid, or no contract service. I am on Verizon and I just want to use this phone for experimentation purposes firstly.

d3dhemmer
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:38 pm

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by d3dhemmer » Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:44 pm

Hallo from Germany, prepaid SIMCARD vodafone (CALLYA)
Test with 2x rephone and 2x simcard => no simcard.
I tried moving, gentel pushing etc.... same result.
Tested SIMcard in smartfone working well.....
please give some advise....

User avatar
seeedstudio45
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:58 am

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by seeedstudio45 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:17 am

Same problem (no sim) :
  • After disabling the pin code in android the sim was recognized randomly.
    After leveling up the metal connector the connection seems stable

artturi.elovirta
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:38 am

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by artturi.elovirta » Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:49 am

Hi there,

Im using a DNA prepaid SIM card (Finland) and have the same issue: "no sim" found.
I disabled the PASSCODE with a iPhone..

can you guys help me?

Thanks in advance..

User avatar
chao.zhang
Kindergarten
Kindergarten
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:55 am

Re: Rephone doesn't see sim card

Post by chao.zhang » Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:47 pm

artturi.elovirta wrote:Hi there,

Im using a DNA prepaid SIM card (Finland) and have the same issue: "no sim" found.
I disabled the PASSCODE with a iPhone..

can you guys help me?

Thanks in advance..
Hi,

Could you please upload an image of your RePhone with SIM card inserted here, while your RePhone shows "NO SIM"?

Thank you.

Post Reply