Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jeremy882, crail.lyu969

brandonb
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 8:05 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: v2

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by brandonb » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:43 am

hey danny- im with you lets order some of those buggers from digikey- i think we should test it with the pico to make sure the inputs are getting to the buffer

Danny Berry
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 5:14 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Nano v2

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by Danny Berry » Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:02 pm

brandonb wrote:hey danny- im with you lets order some of those buggers from digikey- i think we should test it with the pico to make sure the inputs are getting to the buffer

Yep good idea.Brandon.and be carefull taking the back off and putting it back on..It's a tight fit ..putting the cover back on takes patience to get it to snap in place. Do the probe end first.

lygra
Elementary-3
Elementary-3
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:56 pm

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by lygra » Tue Aug 16, 2011 8:48 am

CampbellM wrote:Hi owenix,

I never got around to doing anything about it yet. I find my DSO too useful to give up for the time it will take to return it.

I suspected some of the gates in U9, but since I have only the DSO I was unable to confirm that, not wishing to try to use it on its own circuits.
There is no problem using the Nano to look at it's own signal generator circuits. They all use the same common ground and the scope processing interrupts have nothing to do with the signal generator processing. I have tested this to confirm that looking at its own circuits is not a problem as long as you don't load down the ADC input line while looking at it directly. I didn't try looking at the ADC input line myself.

nzaugg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:58 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: DSO Nano, DSO Quad

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by nzaugg » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:01 pm

I did almost the exact same thing with my signal generator but now when I turn on my Nano v2 I get nothing but a white screen. I'm very sad!! I've only had it since March but it's been my most favorite tool.

Is there no hope for fixing it?

andrey.pozhogin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:22 am

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by andrey.pozhogin » Sun Nov 13, 2011 4:47 am

Yup, the same here. Fireworks were great. Opened the can, replaced 74HC125D to 74F125D - just to realize that the signal generator is not responsible for the picture on the screen. Started going with my multimeter from the USB jack down the power lines, found that one of the voltage regulators (U2) gives out half a volt. Took it out, it was OK. Definitely it is the MCU that went dead and. SO I took it out either - USB suddenly announced that there's a device out there on the line which cannot be identilfied. Surprise surprise, I've never yet seen a couple of resistors sucsessfully pretendint to be a USB HID device or a mass storage device or whatever it is. I guess I could find the MCU for some $5 somewhere out here, but my biggest concern is the screen - If it went dead I'll be unable to do anything with it. Currently I'm looking for ways to test it with STM32VL-Discovery board. But didn't manage to find the documentation for the screen so far (that's how I ended up here).

Meanwhile as I can't live without an oscilloscope I ordered Quad for myself (anyways I've always wanted more than one channel). But I can't imaging how I will be spending those 6 weeks that Russian Post takes to deliver something from the border down here to Moscow.

andrey.pozhogin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:22 am

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by andrey.pozhogin » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:15 pm

So my wife just gave me a call and said she's got two STM32f103VBT6 in her pocket. I will be trying to solder one of them back to the mainboard tonight. I'm just wondering if I will be able to fuse it using USB and firware from the site or it will take JTAG programming?

If the latter, I would be really happy if I will be able to do so using ST-link that I have on my STM32-vldiscovery. If however JTAL is needed I'm screwed.

andrey.pozhogin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:22 am

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by andrey.pozhogin » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:27 am

Dear Seeed support (the forum is called Tech Support - I've not invented it!?!). I honestly spent most of my night trying to program the new MCU. My latest result - I manged to download a *.bin extracted from *.dfu taken from package STM32_USB-FS-Device_Lib_V3.3.0 through UART connector on the main board. That connector said to be the only available bootloader in STM32F103 (I read STM manuals). Now when connected the body is detected by Windows as ST Microelectronics Virtual Com Port. I don't know why I did this - probably because nothing else works. If I try anything else, the device cannot be identified. Please let me know how to make it back to my DSO from scratch. Thanks in advance... I'm just begging for some mercy here I gues....

andrey.pozhogin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:22 am

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by andrey.pozhogin » Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:26 am

OK, finally got it working (it = MCU). Now I have an "evaluation board" with USB, SPI flash and buttons. Even the signal generator is back to life. The screen however was not lucky as well - only backlighting works that definitely doesn't help in hardware debugging.

To get the MCU I had to recompile ST's USB DFU example with some fixes in it. However the DFU mode button (PD9) doesn't work and I still don't know how to fix that. I'd appreciate if anyone could attach the original DFU bootloader to this discussion - would save me a lot of time in the first place but may yet definitely help.

I'll see if there are displays out here for some acceptable price - however I don't want to spend a lot more on $89 device (already spent some $11 for two MCUs). Specs on the LCD would also help.

At least it was a good way to spend a few days and learn a lot more about bootloaders and firmware flashing while I wait for my new DSO Quad :-)))

andrey.pozhogin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:22 am

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by andrey.pozhogin » Wed Nov 16, 2011 5:09 pm

Got my screen back. Eventually it was not working because I disconnected the battery. Once I soldered it back (OMG, two wires are so close to each other on PCB without any housing - OUCHHHH) the I saw the image. 99% there with repairment - however one more thing to do. As I connect USB, the screen goes darker and the USB/Battery indicator keeps flashing. The battery is not charging obviously, so I blame the U1 lipo charding IC - I guess it's dead. As soon as I find replacement I will resolder it and hope everything will be Okay.

If anyone is interested in a "HOWTO" and a DFU bootloader for DSO Nano (V2), let me know. Probably it is already available somewhere but I didn't manage to find one and had to compile myself.

tormod
Elementary-2
Elementary-2
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:18 am

Re: Honey, I fried my signal generator?

Post by tormod » Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:58 pm

Andrey, quite some endeavours you went through there, great that you got it working again. Thanks for sharing the experiences made! If you for any reason would like to reflash the original boot loader, here goes.

Post Reply