Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

wireless communication and related Bees.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie

Post Reply
astronaut971
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:11 pm

Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by astronaut971 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:19 pm

Hello

I would like to program and control Arduino uno with XBee Pro S1 module from Digi (XBee Pro 60mW Wire Antenna - Series 1 (802.15.4) ). I have Seeeduino Stalker v3 with UartSBee V4. I tried to configure the XBee Pro module with XCTU software but not working. What can be the problem?

Thanks

User avatar
loovee
Elementary-3
Elementary-3
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:15 am

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by loovee » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:53 pm

astronaut971 wrote:Hello

I would like to program and control Arduino uno with XBee Pro S1 module from Digi (XBee Pro 60mW Wire Antenna - Series 1 (802.15.4) ). I have Seeeduino Stalker v3 with UartSBee V4. I tried to configure the XBee Pro module with XCTU software but not working. What can be the problem?

Thanks
Hi, UartSbee V4 should work with XBee, is there more details, such as the connection and error code?

astronaut971
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by astronaut971 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:25 am

I download the XCTU software to configure XBEE but it does not work. XCTU can not find the device.

astronaut971
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by astronaut971 » Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:11 pm

when I plug the XBee on UartsBee there is no problem. I can recognize the device with XCTU. But when I plug Seeeduino Stalker on UartsXBee with XBee than does not. What is the problem?

viswa
Staff
Staff
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:16 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seeeduino Film,Motion Frame,UartSbee

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by viswa » Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:47 pm

Hello,

We are unable understand your question. Could you please explain more clearly ? Also post photo/picture of your setup and write more information about the software implementation.

Thanks.

astronaut971
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by astronaut971 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:44 am

My objective would be to make an Arduino UNO and an Stalker v3 communicate with each other. I followed the tutorial on Arduino web side (https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoXbeeShield and also the post on this forum "XBee shield with XBee" by shaopeng.zhang » Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:20 pm. But still dont know what set up is needed to make them comunicate

viswa
Staff
Staff
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:16 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seeeduino Film,Motion Frame,UartSbee

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by viswa » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:52 am

Hello,

Xbee modules comes with lot of features and documentation. This also introduces complexity. To get the XBee modules to communicate, use the documentation that is specific to that module (as there are different versions available in market)
1.Configure two Xbee modules to communicate (UartSBee with X-CTU software).
2.Make this communication permanent by writing the setting to internal eeprom
3.Use UART software to Tx-Rx between Arduino UNO and Seeeduino Stalker

You could read a nice book on this topic "Building Wireless Sensor Networks: with ZigBee, XBee, Arduino, and Processing" or understand about XBee using this tutorial.

Happy Making!

Thanks.

viswa
Staff
Staff
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:16 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seeeduino Film,Motion Frame,UartSbee

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by viswa » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:57 am

Some steps to configure Xbee modules from old tutorial http://www.seeedstudio.com/wiki/Zigbee_ ... s_Products

astronaut971
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by astronaut971 » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:46 pm

viswa wrote:Hello,

1.Configure two Xbee modules to communicate (UartSBee with X-CTU software).
2.Make this communication permanent by writing the setting to internal eeprom
3.Use UART software to Tx-Rx between Arduino UNO and Seeeduino Stalker

You could read a nice book on this topic "Building Wireless Sensor Networks: with ZigBee, XBee, Arduino, and Processing" or understand about XBee using this tutorial.

Happy Making!

Thanks.
I have done all the steps and still not working. I made it that two XBee modules communicate (UartSBee with X-CTU software). I made this configuration XBee 1 : PAN ID= 3333, DL=2384, MY=86. XBee 2: PAN ID= 3333, DL=86, MY=2384.

- jumper between XB_TX and DIGITAL on the line 1
- jumper between XB_RX and DIGITAL on the line 0

2.Make this communication permanent by writing the setting to internal eeprom. Done and both XBee comunicate through X-CTU Termional

3. Use UART software to Tx-Rx between Arduino UNO and Seeeduino Stalker

Made this configuration
-plug a jumper wire between xbee XB_TX (11) and arduino TX1 (1) and a jumper wire between xbee XB_RX (10) and arduino RX1 (0)
I have used this code

Code: Select all

//Computer is connected to Hardware UART
//XBee Shield is connected to the Software UART
 
#include <SoftwareSerial.h> 
SoftwareSerial mySerial(10,11); // RX, TX
 
void setup()
{
    pinMode(0, INPUT);
    pinMode(1, OUTPUT);
    mySerial.begin(9600);         // the Bee baud rate  
    Serial.begin(9600);           // the terminal baud rate  
}
 
void loop()
{
    if(Serial.available())
    {
       mySerial.print((unsigned char)Serial.read());
     } 
    else  if(mySerial.available())
    {
       Serial.print((unsigned char)mySerial.read());
     }  
 
}
Did not work. Both Arduino Uno and Stalker can not communicate. What is the problem???

astronaut971
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Is UartSBee V4 board compatible with XBee Pro S1 module?

Post by astronaut971 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:40 pm

I made the following changes

In Step 3 Use UART software to Tx-Rx between Arduino UNO and Seeeduino Stalker

Made this configuration
-In Sender I plug a jumper wire between xbee XB_TX (3) and Digital and a jumper wire between xbee XB_RX (2) and Digital

-In Receiver I plug a jumper wire between xbee XB_TX (2) and Digital and a jumper wire between xbee XB_RX (3) and Digital.

I wonted to read Sensor data and send to through XBee.
I have used this code to communicate

Sender Code

Code: Select all

#include <Wire.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial xbee1(3, 2);

// ----CONSTANTS (won't change)
#define SENSOR1 A0

//------- VARIABLES (will change)
int sensorValue;
float outVoltage; 
int Level;
   
void setup() {

      Serial.begin(9600);
      xbee1.begin( 9600 );
   
        }
        
void loop() {

          sensorValue = analogRead(A0);
          outVoltage = sensorValue * (5.0 / 1023.0);
          delay (50);
          Level = 6*outVoltage;//The level of wind speed is proportional to the output voltage.
          int val = map(Level, 0, 30, 0, 30);
          Serial.println(val);
          delay (500);
          xbee1.write(val);
          
         if( Serial.available( ) ) {
          /* If data comes in from serial monitor, send it out to XBee */
         xbee1.write( Serial.read( ) );
        }
        if( xbee1.available( ) ) {
          /* If data comes in from XBee, send it out to serial monitor */
          Serial.write( xbee1.read( ) );
          }
         
}

Reciever Code

Code: Select all

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial xbee1(2, 3);
  
void setup() {

      Serial.begin(9600);
      delay( 10 );
      xbee1.begin( 9600 );
   
        }
        
void loop() {

         
         if( Serial.available( ) ) {
          /* If data comes in from serial monitor, send it out to XBee */
         xbee1.write( Serial.read( ) );
        }
        if( xbee1.available( ) ) {
          /* If data comes in from XBee, send it out to serial monitor */
          Serial.write( xbee1.read( ) );
          }

}

Post Reply