Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carrier

wireless communication and related Bees.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie

Post Reply
richardbroberg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:41 am

Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carrier

Post by richardbroberg » Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:51 am

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Arduino 1.5.6-r.2 board is Arduino Pro or Pro Mini

Source is RFBee with TM1637 library referenced to set 4 digit display to 1234 in setup

Seems like there is plenty of room:

Sketch uses 11,698 bytes (38%) of program storage space. Maximum is 30,720 bytes.
Global variables use 592 bytes (28%) of dynamic memory, leaving 1,456 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2,048 bytes.

Any suggestions?

richardbroberg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:41 am

Re: Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carri

Post by richardbroberg » Mon Feb 16, 2015 4:41 am

Jumper RFBee DTR to ground.

Board is Arduino Pro or Pro Mini
Processor is ATmega 168(3.3v, 8 MHz)

Jumper RFBee reset to ground while Arduino ide is compiling and for about a second after the IDE switches state to uploading and then remove the jumper.

richardbroberg
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:41 am

Re: Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carri

Post by richardbroberg » Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:02 am

Simplest solution is to connect .47 uF cap between DTR and Reset

dooori45
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:07 am

Re: Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carri

Post by dooori45 » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:09 am

Any ideas why a bluetooth bee will successfully become inquirable but then fail (go nin-inquirable) when attempting to pair a laptop or an android device with it?
dolii

User avatar
Jacket Chen
Staff
Staff
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:25 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: yes
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seeeduino Shields
Location: China

Re: Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carri

Post by Jacket Chen » Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:08 pm

richardbroberg wrote:Simplest solution is to connect .47 uF cap between DTR and Reset
Yes, you're right. Auto-program AVR chip via FTDI device, we always add a 100nF cap between DTR and Reset.

Jacket
Love little, love long.

User avatar
Jacket Chen
Staff
Staff
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:25 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: yes
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seeeduino Shields
Location: China

Re: Avrdude fails programming RFBee V1.1 in Grove XBee Carri

Post by Jacket Chen » Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:13 pm

dooori45 wrote:Any ideas why a bluetooth bee will successfully become inquirable but then fail (go nin-inquirable) when attempting to pair a laptop or an android device with it?
Sounds strange, could you show more details how it happened?

Jacket
Love little, love long.

Post Reply