RFBee firmware

wireless communication and related Bees.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jessie

Post Reply
michal.demin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:52 am

RFBee firmware

Post by michal.demin » Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:59 am

Hi,

I have had great problem compiling RFBEE sources (version 1.1). I have rewritten the source to pure C (from arduino C++). If anyone is interested you can find my sources here:

https://github.com/robots/RFBee

I believe that my FW uses less ram than arduino alternative. I have also fixed few bugs, that caused reboots and/or sw failures. Feel free to test, any feedback appreciated :-)

Current version compiles fine using avr-gcc, some changes to Makefile might be necessary.

yuriq
Elementary-3
Elementary-3
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:33 pm

Re: RFBee firmware

Post by yuriq » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:38 am

How nice of you, thanks for your enthusiastic and feedback. :D

silvandre
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 10:42 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: RFbee

Re: RFBee firmware

Post by silvandre » Thu May 31, 2012 10:55 pm

Hi Michal!

You said that firmware had a few bugs that caused reboots! I build a rfbee PCB myself with a arduino 328 (3.3V, 16MHz) with a CC1101 and I am having random reboots at transmitting and/or receiving! Could you please have the kindness of explaining to me which bugs where causing your reboots?

I'm not sure if the problems are from software or hardware! Should the SPI tracks be handled with some extra care?

Regards!

michal.demin
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:52 am

Re: RFBee firmware

Post by michal.demin » Sat Sep 08, 2012 1:15 am

There were few bugs in the "low power" mode, some buffer overflow bugs. The receive function doesn't handle one errate as described in simpliciti code. Send function caused trouble when I tried some other RF mode (some other, that is not in the table originally). I don't have specific list of fixes, but you can try my code from the git, compile with winavr (it should work*).

New thing is use of GDO2 as event notification for the send routine to be timed correctly. One RF mode has been replaced with my custom one - to work with ezchronos 868mhz version. Other than that, the firmware is the same.

Tanmay.y12
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:54 pm

Re: RFBee firmware

Post by Tanmay.y12 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:13 pm

Hi Michal,

Could you please tell me, in the FW you built, have you implemented CSMA, RTS/CTS or TDMA for less packet loss and less collision b/w multiple packets?

Thanks

Post Reply