Connecting an Air Quality Sensor directly to an arduino

Grove is a modulated, ready-to-use tool set.
Much like Lego, it takes a building block approach to assembling electronics.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, salmanfarisvp, jeremy882, crail.lyu969

Post Reply
ari4
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:50 pm

Connecting an Air Quality Sensor directly to an arduino

Post by ari4 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:59 pm

Hello,

I am new at this so this might be an obvious question.

I have an AirQuality Sensor that I would like to connect to an Arduino Uno. Unfortunately I dont have the brick , I need to connect the 4 cables coming out of the sensor directly to the Arduino board.

Does anybody have any suggestions how to connect the cables? I presume that the red should go to the 5v pin and the black should go to gnd, but what about the yellow and the white? What pins should they go into?

Also, any suggestions as to how to access in an Arduino sketch the values for CO2, CO Methane and Alcohol?

Thanks

cory.j.fowler
Kindergarten
Kindergarten
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Connecting an Air Quality Sensor directly to an arduino

Post by cory.j.fowler » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:49 pm

I do not have this product but briefly looking over its wiki page tells me it is an analog sensor.

The PCB silkscreen has appropriate signal labels for the pins.
It looks as if (assuming you are using the same cable shown on the wiki page):
Red is Ground
White is Vcc
Yellow is Not Connected
Black is Analog Voltage Output

There is an example sketch on the wiki page using A0 as the input for the sensor.

You will only get an indication of fresh air or polluted air. It will not indicate levels of any specific gases, just a level of air quality.

Hope this helps...

Wiki Page: http://www.seeedstudio.com/wiki/Grove_- ... ity_Sensor
I did your homework in high-school, remember?
Don't be afraid to PM me.

ari4
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:50 pm

Re: Connecting an Air Quality Sensor directly to an arduino

Post by ari4 » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:00 am

Thanks so much for your answer. I got the air working ok. I am trying to do the same with the Temperature and Humidity Pro just connecting the white to an analog input and red and black to red and black but I am not getting any signals, Do I need a yellow for the the Temp&Hum Sensor Pro?

Thank

ari4
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:50 pm

Re: Connecting an Air Quality Sensor directly to an arduino

Post by ari4 » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:25 am

I have the Pro and therefore I am assuming that I need to use #define DHTTYPE DHT22, but I have tried the three values and none of them work. I am connecting the white pin to digital 10, is that a problem?

Thanks

User avatar
Jacket Chen
Staff
Staff
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:25 pm
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: yes
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seeeduino Shields
Location: China

Re: Connecting an Air Quality Sensor directly to an arduino

Post by Jacket Chen » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:40 am

ari4 wrote:I have the Pro and therefore I am assuming that I need to use #define DHTTYPE DHT22, but I have tried the three values and none of them work. I am connecting the white pin to digital 10, is that a problem?

Thanks
The pin which should be connected to Arduino depends on the code:

Code: Select all

#define DHTPIN 2     // what pin we're connected to
So if it is defined in the code, you should connect the sensor to digital 2 of Arduino.

Jacket
Love little, love long.

Post Reply