Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor polling mode instead of the SCL stretching?

Grove is a modulated, ready-to-use tool set.
Much like Lego, it takes a building block approach to assembling electronics.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jeremy882, crail.lyu969

Post Reply
vik.bessems
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 4:28 am

Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor polling mode instead of the SCL stretching?

Post by vik.bessems » Mon May 06, 2019 6:11 pm

Hi there,

I was just wondering does the module have a build in pull-up resistor or is this located on the grove shield for the arduino?

Greetings,
Vik

EDIT:
The 10kΩ onboard resistors don't seem to cut it for i2c communication, I added 2, 4.7kΩ resistors on SDA and SCL lines.
I get some values now but communication stops after x amout of time due to SCL stretching is there a way to change this mode?
Last edited by vik.bessems on Tue May 07, 2019 3:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bill.yu
Junior-6
Junior-6
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor pull-up resistor?

Post by bill.yu » Mon May 06, 2019 6:52 pm

HI Vik,

It has 10k pull up resistor on sda scl on the sensor. thanks.

vik.bessems
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 4:28 am

Re: Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor pull-up resistor?

Post by vik.bessems » Mon May 06, 2019 6:59 pm

So this means I can connect it without a problem to another device supporting i2c, for example a huzzah32 (esp32)?

bill.yu
Junior-6
Junior-6
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor pull-up resistor?

Post by bill.yu » Mon May 06, 2019 8:02 pm

Hi Vik,

From hardware point of view, yes. thanks.

vik.bessems
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 4:28 am

Re: Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor pull-up resistor?

Post by vik.bessems » Tue May 07, 2019 3:07 pm

Have you any clue if the heart rate sensor has polling mode instead of the SCL stretching? This seems to be conflicting for communication over i2c.
And if so is it changeable via the Arduino IDE or do I have to do a specific type of communication with the onboard stm32 chip?

Post Reply