Grove - OLED Display 128*64 - Arduino 1.0 Issues

Grove is a modulated, ready-to-use tool set.
Much like Lego, it takes a building block approach to assembling electronics.

Moderators: lily.li, violet, jeremy882, crail.lyu969

Post Reply
Vulture
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:57 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seediuino Mega

Grove - OLED Display 128*64 - Arduino 1.0 Issues

Post by Vulture » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:14 pm

I have not used any version of Arduino other than 1.0 so I can not confirm this is a 1.0 issue.

Attached is an image of what the screen looks like after loading the demo code form: http://seeedstudio.com/wiki/Grove_-_OLED_Display_128*64

Here is a link to the product: http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/grove- ... th=163_167

As you can see the screen scrolls with an incorrectly drawn pattern. The pattern does change by changing the fill_string# values. I also had to make some small alterations to compile.

extern unsigned char myFont[][8]={}; //PROGMEM
extern unsigned char logo[]={};
extern unsigned char ip[]={};

changed from:


extern unsigned char myFont[][8]; //PROGMEM
extern unsigned char logo[];
extern unsigned char ip[];

All Wire.send commands renamed to Wire.write

Board is attached to recommended Ic 1 port

Vulture
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:57 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seediuino Mega

Re: Grove - OLED Display 128*64 - Arduino 1.0 Issues

Post by Vulture » Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:35 am

Just tried this on Arduino IDE 0023 and it produced the same results. I still had to initialize the arrays to get the code to compile but did not need to make the Wire.send changes.

Vulture
Pre-kindergarten
Pre-kindergarten
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:57 am
Are you a staff member of seeedstudio?: no
Which products/projects are your favorite?: Seediuino Mega

Re: Grove - OLED Display 128*64 - Arduino 1.0 Issues

Post by Vulture » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:25 pm

Okay well the issue was that those variables I was setting the = {}; needed to be set to the values in data.c included in the zip on the site.

Post Reply